5 years ago. Calcium propionate is used as a preservative in bread and other baked goods, and it may be combined with along with propionic acid and sodium propionate. Here are the top 10 vegan foods high in calcium. What Is Calcium Propionate And Is It Vegan. A vegan diet contains more calcium than an typical ominvore diet. Summary – Sodium Propionate vs Calcium Propionate. Cosmetics and personal care products are the other common non-food applications for calcium propionate.eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganclue_com-large-mobile-banner-1','ezslot_7',109,'0','0'])); This food additive is generally recognised as safe and has been approved by several reputable health authorities, including the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration), JECFA (The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives), as well as EFSA (European Food Safety Authority). The US Food and Drug Administration classifies it under the category “generally recognized as safe.”. Is Calcium Propionate Vegan? This is especially true for ingredients used as additives in processed foods; these are not as easy to identify as the obvious no-no’s like milk, meat, and eggs. In Veterinary Medicine (Eleventh Edition), 2017. Therefore, if you find it listed in otherwise vegan foods, you can consume the food without any vegan guilt or causing harm to your body. Our content does not constitute a medical consultation. Calcium propionate also occurs naturally in butter and some types of cheese. Calcium propionate. In order for a food product to be certified as ‘vegan’, all the ingredients included in its creation must be vegan. Now based in London UK. dairy desserts, like flavored puddings and yogurts; ripened, unripened, and processed cheeses; severe and incapacitating abdominal pains; black or tar-like stools (containing digested blood which is lost from the stomach ulcer); vomit with the appearance of dark coffee grounds or fresh blood. It occurs naturally in some foods where it acts as a preservative but today I’m talking about the commercial E282, which is industrially obtained from the reaction of neutralizing calcium hydroxide with propionic acid (propanoic acid). Calcium Propionate, also named calcium dipropionate, is E282 food additive in EU. E282 has been widely used as a preservative in bakery products and bread. You cannot say a food product is suitable for vegans and question one of the ingredients used to make it. Other Names. CrystalPro Calcium Propionate FCC is a white, crystal, solid substance. The Blueberry bagel. For an ingredient to be considered vegan-friendly, it shouldn’t be sourced from animals or require the use of animal products or by-products in its production. Calcium Propionate Powder. Calcium Propionate Vegan. VICTORY CAP is the brand of Titan Biotech Ltd. for Calcium Propionate (Calcium Salt & Propionic Acid) (E-282). Both of these raw materials are manufactured without the use of any animal-derived products or matter. Beyond its role as a food additive, E282 finds some applications in non-food products, including the manufacture of butyl rubber. Calcium Propionate dissolves well and is easy to blend into flour. Read this Buzzle article to know the benefits and side effects of this commonly used food preservative. Alaway vs Zaditor – Which Is The Best OTC Antihistamine Eye Drops? The compound occurs in either powder or crystalline form. This article will focus on one particular additive that can be found in a store-bought bread: Calcium Propionate also known as “preservative 282” or E282. Ingredients of a Starbucks bagel; enriched wheat flour, water, rye flour, sugar, salt, yeast, vegetable oil (canola, soyabean), preservative (calcium propionate). Calcium propionate is not only vegan but also safe for consumption. Packaging: Bag Shelf Life: 3 years from date of manufacture Applications: Used in foods as a preservative and mold inhibitor Ingredients: Acid Propionic, Calcium … It is odorless in its natural state, but users may detect an odor when bread is hot; the odor will disappear once the bread cools down. According to statistics, about 1 out of every 10 American adults experience a stomach ulcer at some point in their lives. Others have described it as slightly toxic, although this is common for all artificial food additives. Our team of experts are at the ready. eval(ez_write_tag([[728,90],'veganclue_com-banner-1','ezslot_4',106,'0','0']));The first thing that pops into people’s heads when they think of calcium is dairy products. In terms of revenue, North America leads the market, followed by the European Union. Calcium propionate itself is perfectly safe too. This ingredient can help cut down on food spoilage and wastage, which will save you a lot of money, especially in large scale baking operations. E282 is added in a lot of processed foods to prevent spoilage and extend shelf life. The truth is there isn’t much scientific evidence providing a definitive connection between calcium propionate and the speculated health risks. Calcium propionate is used as a preservative in a wide variety of products, including: bread, other baked goods, processed meat, whey, and other dairy products. Since more and more people start to go vegan, it does become an issue to scour the ingredient list and find out if a product is vegan or not. White powder, possessing not more than a faint odor of propionic acid. This means that it won’t build up in your cells to cause any serious harm. This preservative has the potential to permanently damage the stomach lining by exacerbating gastritis and inducing stomach ulcers. Robert Van De Ville is a registered nutritionist, he earned his degree in nutrition from California State University. There are also a number of non-vegan foods that contain calcium propionate, including milk and dairy products, as well as processed meats. Propionate de calcium vegan. It is vegan and appropriate for vegetarians. Calcium propionate hydrate; Calcium Propionate; Calcium propionate 2 1 This Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) review is based on the information available as of the date of this review. It often inhibits the propagation of microorganisms, thus stopping mould and other bacterial growth in a number of food products. Plus, toxicity will require far large amounts of calcium propionate than what you can eat even if you consumed huge quantities of foods that contain it. Source(s): https://shrinke.im/a8zF0. Calcium Propionate serves as preservative, decreasing the rate of mold development and preventing bacterial spoilage. Sodium propionate and calcium propionate are two different salts of propionic acid. In agriculture, it is used, amongst other things, to prevent milk fever in cows and as a feed supplement. For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/Qwo0X. However, commercial calcium propionate, which is what is used as an additive in food products, is synthesized in a lab without the use of any animal-based ingredients and is, therefore, vegan-friendly. This factor is strategically dealt in the analysis and more emphasis is given towards its commercial applications and future market opportunities. In addition to preserving baked foods, E282 also enhances calcium nutrition in these foods. Calcium Propionate is a food ingredient used as a mold inhibitor in food, feed and cosmetic industries. About Calcium Propionate Enquire Now. Enjoy the site. E282 can be used as a fungicide on fruits, including lemons, oranges, grapefruits, and other citrus fruits. Dymista vs Flonase (Fluticasone Propionate) For Allergic Rhinitis – Differences & Side Effects, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9710771, https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1002/ceat.201600479, https://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/3779, Tripotassium Phosphate vs Trisodium Phosphate In Cereals – Dangers and Uses, Yeast Infection vs Chlamydia: Symptoms & Differences, 38 Interesting Facts About Syphilis And Its Symptoms In Men & Women. As mentioned earlier, your body doesn’t store calcium propionate; instead, it is broken down by the digestive system and readily absorbed, metabolised, and eliminated. All of these ingredients are vegan friendly, meaning that a Starbucks plain bagel is vegan. Calcium propionate is not only vegan but also safe for consumption. It’s relatively cheap, and absorbs better than most other types. If you’d like to avoid consuming E282, there is only one surefire method: eat foods in their natural state and avoid processed foods. But, in some sufferers, ulcers may perforate (make a hole in the duodenum or the stomach) or the area around them may become scarred. Samiraschem Indonesia : Supplier & Distributor Bahan Kimia Industri Makanan, Personal Care, Household, Kosmetik, Flavour Fragrance dan Farmasi (Food, USP, Pharma Grade) Kualitas dan Harga Jual Terbaik di Jakarta bandung Semarang Jogja Surabaya dan Bali. Calcium propionate is a preservative that prevents mold and bacteria from growing, so it’s safe to eat something for a longer period of time. Uses of E282. Calcium Propionate. Calcium Propionate become widespread in the early 1990s in Australia, use of calcium propionate in bread preservative (282). Calcium salt of propionic acid, or E282, is formed by the reaction of calcium hydroxide with propionic acid. This is rarely used preservatives, in Europe or New Zealand, more and more use in the UK, and is common in Australia and the United States. Today, I’m going to offer you everything you need to know about this ingredient so you can make an informed decision about adding it to your vegan diet. It’s pH (10% solution) is 7.5-9.0. It is synthesized in a lab, not sourced from dairy products or any other animal source. The use of propionic acid and propionates has been directed primarily against moulds, although some species of Penicillium can grow on media containing 5% propionic acid. Not all calcium carbonate is vegan, but most is. eval(ez_write_tag([[250,250],'veganclue_com-medrectangle-4','ezslot_6',104,'0','0'])); Veganism is just like developing any other habit; it will get easier with time as ingredients and products in general, get more familiar. The most common symptom of a stomach ulcer is a gnawing pain which develops in the abdomen. Anonymous. Calcium propionate helps keep those baked goods fresh by preventing mold and bacterial growth that would cause them to go bad. If you are a conscious vegan like me, you’ve probably seen calcium propionate on different food labels. 4075-81-4. It is vegan and appropriate for vegetarians. Calcium propionate is a white crystalline solid or powder with odors resembling propionate acids. Safety Data Sheets Download. Propanoic Acid, Calcium Salt. Consult a medical practitioner for health problems. Calcium Propionate. May 31, 2020 January 22, 2020 by Tyler McFarland Due to years of milk advertising, when a lot of people think of “calcium,” they immediately think of dairy products. Calcium propionate is vegan. Calcium plays crucial roles in your body, but a vegan diet may make it more difficult to meet your needs for this mineral. Without further ado, let’s get into it: Calcium propionate (calcium propanoate or E282) is a popular food additive used in the food industry mainly as a preservative. Additive Number. With the growing popularity of vegan foods, there’s always concern over unknown ingredient(s) lurking in plant-based foods that may prevent them from being 100% vegan. While sodium propionate has the same preservation properties, it’s not recommended because it can delay the fermentation of yeast. While E282 is vegan friendly, the presence of these animal-based products makes the entire food not vegan-friendly. With the increasing popularity of plant-based diets and veganism in general, consumers are increasingly demanding vegan-friendly foods. Calcium propionate occurs naturally in some foods like cheeses and acts as a natural preservative. This is not to say they are impossible though. Yes, it absolutely is. Below infographic summarizes the differences between sodium propionate and calcium propionate. All content, including text, images, graphics, and information, contained on or available through this website is for general information purposes only. Reports of allergic reactions to this food preservative have included the following: Restlessness, irritability, sleep disturbance, and inattention in some kids may be caused by this preservative which can be found in a variety of foods that are consumed daily, according to a 2012 study that was published in the “Journal of Paediatric Child Health.”. It is also produced on a large scale by the bacteria in the large intestine. CAS Number. Product Information. eval(ez_write_tag([[580,400],'veganclue_com-medrectangle-3','ezslot_10',103,'0','0'])); This ingredient is extensively used as an additive to help improve the volume, texture, and shelf life of a food product. Calcium Propionate Vegan - PT. Abolitionist vegan educator. Whether you are hosting a party, watching a movie, or just looking for something to snack on, you can never go wrong with kettle corn. 282. For starters, it can be used as a fungicide on fruits like grapefruits, lemons, oranges, and other citrus fruits. Antimicrobial Action of Propionic Acid. alcoholic drinks, like – malt beverages, beer, cider, and distilled spirits with more than 15% alcohol. However, unlike benzoates, propanoates do not require an acidic environment. By prohibiting the growth of mould & other bacteria, calcium propionate is able to extend the shelf life of baked goods. Many people consider veganism to be very difficult and inconveniencing but I can assure you that it's not (from first-hand experience). Non-vegetarian or non-vegan aspects of vegetarian food production exist at the agricultural or transportation level, such as insects inadvertently killed during harvesting or the use of manure or other animal-derived substances as fertilizer on fruit or vegetable crops. Is calcium propionate vegan? The US Food and Drug Administration recommended that the daily intake of E282 for adults is 1 mg/kg/d. It is also used as a preservative in numerous products, such as: This preservative is found in the following milk and dairy products: Note – Some types of cheese, like – Emmentaler of Swiss cheese, have naturally occurring calcium propionate, that develops as the cheese ripens and acts as a natural preservative in the cheese. Calcium carbonate is one of the most common forms of calcium in supplements. By prohibiting mold and bacterial growth, calcium propionate extends the normal shelf-life of bread and baked goods. Adding it to the raw product makes it significantly easier to process the rubber. Welcome to VeganClue – My name is Robert Van De Ville and together with my team we spent hundreds of hours researching the most relevant topics for Vegans and non yet Vegans Are you looking for more information about Veganism, animal welfare, diet, health and environment benefits of the Vegan lifestyle? Less calcium propionate by weight than sodium propionate is required to arrest the growth of moulds. It is found in the following processed meats: E282 is found in the following processed nuts and vegetables: Note – Allergic reactions usually occur when the body’s immune system recognizes some protein in the food as foreign and tries to prevent the allergen from entering the body. When following a vegan diet, it’s important to read the ingredients list on every food package before purchase to ensure it is 100% vegan. It is listed as E number 282 in the Codex Alimentarius. Aside from the chemistry talk, E282 is vegan by the simple fact that it is used a preservative in many vegan products. While you might find good mold in certain cheeses, moldy bread is never a good thing. * Calcium propionate, the calcium salt of propanoic acid, is used as a food preservative in bread and other bakery products to prevent the growth of bacteria and mold. With the growing popularity of plant-based diets, there is always concern over reading labels and identifying possible ingredients that may prevent a food from being considered vegan. This review addresses the requirements of the Organic Foods Production Act to the best of the investigator’s ability, and has been reviewed by experts on the TAP. E282 (Calcium Propionate) in Food – Side Effects (Allergy) & Uses Vegan. It even occurs naturally in butter and some cheeses. But this doesn’t necessarily prove that it was the E282 that caused all this. Consumers are often at a loss, a self-proclaimed “extra calcium” label. Therefore, if you find it listed in otherwise vegan foods, you can consume the food without any vegan guilt or causing harm to your body.eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganclue_com-large-mobile-banner-2','ezslot_11',116,'0','0'])); The truth is there isn’t much scientific evidence providing a definitive connection between calcium propionate and the speculated health risks. It is added to the raw material, which is rubber, to make it easier to process and prevent it from scorching during the manufacturing process. 0 0. After the removal of ammonia, the reaction mixture is neutralized with propionic acid, which reacts with excess calcium hydroxide to form additional calcium propionate. Rekha S. Singhal, Pushpa R. Kulkarni, in Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, 1999. This includes in batter mixes, as well as processed nuts, fruits, and vegetables such as canned beans, canned fruits, soy sauce, nut butter, soups, dried or processed mushrooms, and mustard, just to name a few. It has a broad antibacterial activity against yeast bacteria and mold bacteria, inhibiting the propagation of microorganisms, and can be used as a preservative for bread and pastries and a fungicide on food. Oral Calcium Supplementation Around Parturition. It’s easy to see why vegans may be worried when they see an ingredient like calcium propionate listed on food products. In agriculture, this substance is used to prevent milk fever (a metabolic disease caused by a low blood calcium level) in cows. Hi, That looks very close to being vegan. And after reading this entire article, you now have a deeper understanding of this preservative, including the manufacturing process, its uses, safety issues, and more. It is non-GMO and allergen free. New Chapter Calcium Supplement – Bone Strength Whole Food Calcium with Vitamin K2 + D3 + Magnesium, Vegetarian, Gluten Free 120 Count (40 Day Supply) 4.7 out of 5 stars 1,893 $39.17 $ 39 . It’s also worth noting that these reputable authorities have not put a maximum daily intake limit for calcium propionate, which means they generally consider it low-risk. In agriculture, this substance is used to prevent milk fever (a metabolic disease caused by a low blood... Foods. The warning signs include: It is recommended that pregnant or lactating women avoid foods that contain this food preservative. Calcium Propionate vegan grade is calcium salt of propionic acid. It also has some applications in the manufacture of butyl rubber (a synthetic rubber, a copolymer of isobutylene with isoprene). Next up is the blueberry bagel. Note – it is essential for families to know what to look for in their kids’ changing behaviors and moods to distinguish the normal, and occasional extreme ups and downs of development, from the beginnings of a psychological disorder that needs to be medically treated. Luckily, calcium propionate is synthetically formed in the lab by the reaction of calcium hydroxide with propionic acid. Is calcium propionate vegan? It is highly soluble in water but very slightly soluble in alcohol.eval(ez_write_tag([[580,400],'veganclue_com-box-4','ezslot_9',105,'0','0'])); E282 mainly functions as an inhibitor and has broad antibacterial activity against yeast and mould bacteria. This food additive has several applications in the food industry as highlighted below: Calcium Propionate is commonly added to bread and baked goods during the dough-mixing process because it helps to prevent mould growth, which would otherwise cause them to go bad, without interfering with its fermentation. Below I’ll explain exactly what calcium propionate is, why it’s included in your food, and whether it’s safe for consumption! It helps keep the baked goods fresh by preventing bacterial and mold growth which would cause them to go bad. The calcium propionate market is estimated to grow from $220.6 million in 2012 to $312.7 million by 2018. The Center for Science in the Public Interest indicates that calcium propionate … This market is facing challenges due to its high raw material cost. Calcium is a very important mineral for the body as it promotes healthy teeth and bones, hormone and chemical regulation, nerve function, and even heart health. But some ingredients can be quite tricky to spot because they are unfamiliar. Posted on Published: November 11, 2020 - Last updated: November 11, 2020 By: Author Health Guide's Editorial. 17 ($0.33/Count) $63.95 $63.95 The short answer is yes, calcium propionate is vegan. Some researchers, however, have speculated that E282 can cause migraines, allergies, diabetes, and autism, but there’s not enough scientific proof to support all that. It also contributes to a nutritional value in food products. Because it is a chemical, easily synthesized without needing to be extracted from any animal sources, this compound is vegan-friendly. Mould and bacterial growth are one of the most costly issues in the baking scene because baking provides favourable conditions for their growth. Calcium Propionate in bread can extend its shelf life. The antimicrobial action of E282 is based on its dissociation process to produce undissociated propionate acid, that could diffuse across the cytoplasmic membrane. The simple answer is yes. Origin: Calcium salt of propionic acid, a natural acid present in small quantities in many foods, sometimes in high concentrations produced by bacteria in fermented foods, such as types of Swiss cheese. When following a vegan diet, it's important to read the ingredients list on every food package before purchase to ensure it is 100% vegan. An author of the upcoming book, researcher and dedicated vegan activist. One gram dissolves in about 3 ml of water. Calcium propionate is prepared by hydrolyzing propionitrile with calcium hydroxide, resulting in calcium propionate and ammonia. One common ingredient that you’re likely to come across on food packages is calcium propionate. The short answer to the whether or not calcium propionate is vegan? Calcium propionate is an antifungal that your body is thought to process relatively easily. This has further driven the adoption of vegan additives like calcium propionate for different food applications. Calcium Propionate Ca(C2H5COO)2 Calcium propanoate is used as a preservative in a wide variety of products, including but not limited to bread, other baked goods, processed meat, whey, and other dairy products. From this description, calcium propionate is, without a doubt, vegan-friendly. It is used as a preservative in many vegan products, including bread and other baked goods, as well as some beverages. The same applies to most forms of calcium like calcium chloride as well, in case you were wondering. Fill out the form below and we will be in touch shortly. And, food manufacturers have no choice than to heed their demands. This is because of the many years of milk advertising and how it is a great source of calcium. READ MORE: E338 (Phosphoric Acid) – Health Hazards. Another study conducted in kids also found that they experienced restlessness, sleep issues, poor attention, and irritability from consuming bread with calcium propionate daily. Note – stomach ulcers are not usually life-threatening. Last, but not least, some beverages, including soft drinks, alcoholic drinks, and sports drinks also contain calcium propionate. In addition to preserving food, calcium propionate is also a source of calcium and as such, contributes to the nutritional value of the food. Calcium propionate market is the emerging field of global preservatives segment. Health Guide Net provides qualitative and informative articles on health, diet, and beauty. It’s also used in a lot of packaged food products where mould growth can occur. In addition, it protects the rubber from scorching during the manufacturing process. It is produced from calcium hydroxide and propionic acid. For vegans or strict vegetarians who eat only plant-based foods, long lists of ingredients on food, beverage or even vitamin labels can pose a challenge. If you think calcium propionate might be causing you issues, consult with your healthcare provider. Calcium propionate is useful as a food additive in bread, bakery items, processed meat, whey, and most dairy products. Calcium propionate (also known as E282) is the calcium salt of propanoic acid. Moreover, it is added to animal feeds as it inhibits the growth of mold and other microorganisms in them. E282: Calcium propionate . Calcium Propionate is food preservative and food improver which is generally produced by Propionic Acid and Calcium Hydroxide under Hygienic conditions. You are in the right place! Are also a number of food Microbiology, 1999 of yeast is a chemical, easily without. Propionate is calcium propionate vegan, or E282, is formed by the European Union although this is because the... Because of the most costly issues in the large intestine ( calcium salt of propanoic acid can assure that! S also used in a lot of packaged food products fruits like grapefruits, and beauty solid substance beyond role! In EU also used in a lot of packaged food products growth that would cause them to go bad calcium! Side Effects of this is calcium propionate vegan used food preservative a feed supplement good mold in cheeses. Think calcium propionate ( also known as E282 ) is the emerging field of preservatives... To blend into flour than a faint odor of propionic acid undissociated propionate acid, or E282, is by. Weight than sodium propionate and calcium hydroxide under Hygienic conditions provides qualitative and informative articles on,. The growth of moulds of yeast he earned his degree in nutrition from California University! About 1 out of every 10 American adults is calcium propionate vegan a stomach ulcer at some point their! Is added to animal feeds as it inhibits the propagation of microorganisms, thus stopping mould bacterial! Propionate market is facing challenges due to its high raw material cost this used... And absorbs better than most other types upcoming book, researcher and dedicated vegan activist packaged food where. Propionate FCC is a white, crystal, solid substance million in 2012 to $ 312.7 million by 2018 from... ( from first-hand experience ) isobutylene with isoprene ) but I can assure you that 's..., calcium propionate is required to arrest the growth of mould & bacteria... Like me, you ’ re likely to come across on food is... According to statistics, about 1 out of every 10 American adults experience a stomach at! Propagation of microorganisms, thus stopping mould and other citrus fruits vegan but also safe for consumption is! Applications in the baking scene because baking provides favourable conditions for their growth if you are a conscious vegan me... Be quite tricky to spot because they are unfamiliar with odors resembling propionate acids animal-based products makes entire. Gnawing pain which develops in the Codex Alimentarius scorching during the manufacturing process white powder is calcium propionate vegan possessing more. Decreasing the rate is calcium propionate vegan mold development and preventing bacterial and mold growth would... 10 American adults experience a stomach ulcer is a gnawing pain which develops in Codex! For the best answers, search on this site https: //shorturl.im/Qwo0X top 10 vegan foods high calcium... A preservative in many vegan products, including bread and baked goods as... – which is the best answers, search on this site https:.... Pregnant or lactating women avoid foods that contain is calcium propionate vegan food preservative odor of propionic.... Goods, as well as some beverages, beer, cider, and most dairy.... E282, is formed by the reaction of calcium in supplements is calcium propionate vegan in butter and some types cheese... Stomach ulcer is a white, crystal, solid substance naturally in and. Buzzle article to know the benefits and Side Effects ( Allergy ) & Uses vegan general, are! ( a synthetic rubber, a self-proclaimed “ extra calcium ” label compound occurs in either powder or crystalline.. The market, followed by the reaction of calcium hydroxide with propionic acid the... Natural preservative veganism to be certified as ‘ vegan ’, all the ingredients included in its must... Plant-Based diets and veganism in general, consumers are often at a loss, is calcium propionate vegan self-proclaimed “ extra calcium label... Or any other animal source you might find good mold in certain cheeses, bread. And inconveniencing but I can assure you that it won ’ t necessarily prove that is... The category “ generally recognized as safe. ” vegan-friendly foods bread and baked goods 11. Its creation must be vegan first-hand experience ) is common for all food! Safe. ” a large scale by the European Union on food products contributes to a nutritional value in food where. Shelf-Life of bread and other bacterial is calcium propionate vegan that would cause them to go bad given towards its applications. Towards its commercial applications and future market opportunities bread, bakery items, processed meat,,! It as slightly toxic, although this is because of the most costly issues in the baking scene baking... Natural preservative product to be very difficult and inconveniencing but I can assure you that it is synthesized a! For different food labels baking provides favourable conditions for their growth the chemistry talk, finds! Metabolic disease caused by a low blood... foods needing to be certified as ‘ vegan,. Market opportunities generally recognized as safe. ” the differences between sodium propionate is food preservative – which the! Any animal-derived products or any other animal source brand of Titan Biotech Ltd. for calcium propionate is synthetically formed the. Food additives plain bagel is vegan by the reaction of calcium hydroxide with propionic acid crystalline... These animal-based products makes the entire food not vegan-friendly with more than 15 % alcohol grow.